Even my mother can use it …

Lots of lies, lots of fun…


"Even my mother can use it.

(Read: My mother has a degree in Computer Science and she develops her own apps, and she will find the feature easy to use.) "

Top ten lies of Engineers (From Guy Kawasaki)

1. “We're about to go into beta testing"
2. “I don't know anything thing about marketing…”
3. “I'll comment the code, so that the next person can understand what I did.”
4. ….

The REAL Top ten Lies of Engineers list (from Marcelo Calbucci)

1. We are on track to ship on the scheduled date.
(Read: we will be 2-3x late)

2. This feature will only take a week to add to the product.
(Read: the feature will take 3 weeks).

3. We should rewrite this component because it’s full of bugs.
(Read: I can’t understand what the previous engineer did, so I think it is easy to write from
scratch. It will have the same amount of bugs, but at least I’ll understand)

4. …

Top Management Lies (from Kathy Sierra):

1. "My job is to be a buffer between you and upper management."
(Read: Your job is to make me look good to upper management.)

2. "We value your criticism and ideas."
(Read: If you're so smart, how come I'm a manager and you're not?)

3. "We set reasonable deadlines, and we never underbid our projects… so our employees don't need to work weekends."
(Read: Since when is Saturday part of the weekend?)

5 Comments »

  1. […] Nieboer has an older post about Lies engineers tell… We all have experienced this, either giving or […]

  2. Mitchel said

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep
    it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later. Cheers

  3. Thank you for some other informative site. Where else could I am getting
    that type of information written in such an ideal means?

    I’ve a project that I am just now running on, and I have been on the look out for such information.

  4. Look said

    What a information of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious know-how concerning unpredicted emotions.

  5. But many homeowners are faced with the same style and color.

    Mortise and Tenon – is a kind of cabinet in your kitchen. Composting helps your garden and
    reduces waste in your local retail stores. You’ll see successful bathroom remodeling projects,
    updated kitchen cabinets, two large pantry kitchen cabinets, and
    corner of kitchen remodeling the grease areas. It is a wonderful solution because it is such a European in style product.
    Lastly, you need to understand is the depth of your counters, cabinets as well.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

